Becoming Mom

Becoming a mom is exactly what I expected and also a million small and large things I never could have imagined.

Falling in love: watching my wife mother our sons melts my heart. Awe-inspiring. I think I actually love her more now than ever before.

Holding the boys as they sleep gives me a big warm feeling that sneaks up on me.

Scared beyond belief: Aiden is still in the well-baby nursery though he has lost 9% of his body weight. He is also a terrible eater since he is so little. Every feed makes me feel overwhelmed and inadequate as I struggle to get him to take even half an ounce.

Seth is in NICU. He has been on O2, monitoring, a heat lamp and an IV. He has now been removed from most of these things is progressing. Issue is that he had an incident of “forgetting” to breathe for a few seconds. Really? Forgetting!?

Flu season is coming and my guys are so little… Enough said.

Joey and I have each had a meltdown on separate days… Ah well.

Mama bear: I find myself asserting myself in small and large ways I might have avoided before… Like sending my family home the day the boys were born and only allowing the boys to be seen through the window. My thought was that they had enough challenges without being breathed on by a ton of people.

The sheer exhaustion. So much to do; so many feeds; so little time!

And now pictures!

17 Comments

Filed under whole new you

17 responses to “Becoming Mom

  1. You and Joey are glowing! And what beautiful, perfect little boys! I’m so happy for the four of you!

    I’m glad your MamaBear instincts are kicking in. You are so right about flu season and vulnerable babies. I know you are not even home yet, but if I may be so bold as to offer some advice as a former pediatric nurse: Be your babies’ best advocate. Don’t give a damn about hurting people’s feelings: demand good hand-washing before anyone touches your babies; order anyone who coughs or sneezes out of the vicinity; please don’t take them places where groups people are present (stores, large family gatherings, trains, planes, etc). They are so vulnerable, to flu, RSV (I’m sure the NICU nurses will tell you about this), and other things you don’t even want to hear about.

    Okay, I’m taking off my nursing cap and putting my blog sister hat back on. Love and hugs to you and kisses to those sweet baby boys!

  2. Awwww, they are so cute!! I love the side-by-side picture!!

    You have been in our thoughts. I hope the boys continue to do well and are able to come home soon. Good for you for sending the fam’ home, I know that isn’t easy. It sounds like you are doing a fabulous job protecting them already.

    And why did I always picture you blonde!? Guess I took the Dr Seuss reference a bit too literally! (at least I ddnt picture you animated!). 😉

  3. You look so happy. I’m so glad to see the pictures. I hope Seth continues getting better and gets out of the nicu soon. You all are amazing!

  4. Y’all look great!

    Congratulations! Hope everyone is home soon.

    And good work having meltdowns on separate days — much better than simultaneous.

  5. What little beauties! And the boys are cute, too 🙂 Seriously though, they are perfection! Congrats to you both!

  6. Next in line

    Oh gosh look at those little peanuts and two amazing mamas! xoxoxo to all of you. I hope the boys are home with you soon.

  7. tbean

    Oh I am so glad you posted pics! I was going to mention that we had seen pics of everyone in the family except you so far. The picture of the four of you is so precious. I’m sure this week has been a major roller coaster of emotions–just soak it all in. And I hope everyone is home together soon.

  8. What lovely pictures and happy mamas! I thought you were blonde, too, but here you are, looking like Ellen Page. : )

    I agree about taking any necessary precautions as flu season sets in. I & N weren’t NICU babies but because they were low birth weight and born in early Nov., the pediatrician flat-out told us to not take them anywhere for the first month and to severely limit their contact with children who attended daycare or preschool. We didn’t go to Thanksgiving dinner, either, despite family pressure.

    I hope Seth continues to progress and Aidan starts regaining weight. I’m blowing them (virtual, flu-free) kisses.

  9. gorgeous, perfect! all four of you! xo

  10. Beautiful! What a gorgeous family you all are.

  11. poppycat

    The boys are so wonderful. Thanks for sharing pics of the darlings. And Cindy, is that the first EVER pic of you??? You and Joey are such a lovely couple and with the boys added in, an equally lovely family!

    There is so much to worry about and it IS so overwhelming and amazing. Take it one day at a time. It’s so hard and so cool. The boys are doing great and should be regulating all on their own soon. They’ll be home before you know it. Hugs to you and Joey until that happens – I know it must be hard on you both.

    I’m thrilled to see Cindyhoo2 the mom – THE MOM! Holy shite! Your a mom! 🙂

    Let me know if you need anything. You can email me at my new email in your comments.

  12. Omg they are so unbelievably adorable, & so tiny! Sending lots of good eating & breathing vibes to your babes, and positive & restful thoughts to you mamas. Xo

  13. The pictures! So cute! So little! I can’t wait to hear more. And, you go mama bear!

  14. I love love love seeing your updates and pictures. They are beautiful and I can see the love for them in your eyes!

    Your comment about mama bear is so funny! I’ve been calling Janet that since we came home from the hospital!

  15. Oh my gosh, I LOVE the photos of you all, what a gorgeous family! I don’t blame you for letting your Mama Bear insticts take over, you are absolutely in the right! The boys are just breathtakingly beautiful, and I am SO happy for you all!

  16. Eva

    Holy Crap. Too dang cute! Congrats. I am so happy for you.

Leave a Reply

