For the record

It has been one of THOSE days.

Joey left the house (to work and do errands) over 12 hours ago. My boss called to fuss me out this morning (on a day off). Both babies want to be held at all times and want to eat about every 2 hours. They cry for what appears to be no good reason. I cannot get any housework done. Every piece of clothing I put on my body gets summarily covered in a body fluid (pee, poo or puke). The boys STILL need a bath and every time I walk near the breast pump, someone starts to cry so the boys have eaten only formula today. Not our finest day. Joey better get home soon. I need a glass of wine.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “For the record

  1. Days like this leave me feeling completely defeated (and, yes, reaching for a drink… there’s an “I have twins, so I drink twice as much” t-shirt for good reason!). But “tomorrow is another day” is my motto as a twin mom. Hang in there!

  2. i hope you were able to get that glass of wine last night and that today is a bit saner. hang in there – you are doing a great job. just keep loving on those boys, the housework can wait! ♥♥

  3. Oh Cindy … I feel your pain … or rather, I can only imagine it times two. Having my own slog here and we’re six months in with only one (at a time). Lots of love. Think Churchill (Never, never, never, never, never give up.)

    For what it’s worth, it’s worst when you are a first time parent because you haven’t lived through the dark night before, so you doubt the dawn and that makes it the hard parts seem longer and scarier. Live for sleep training. Until then, Eat take out a lot. Hire all the help you can afford. Try to be kind to each other. Forgive each other. “Think of England”?

    XXOO

  4. I remember bad days like those. The good thing is, when there’s a bad day, a better one is right around the corner.

  5. Ummm…I understand! I mean, I can only partly understand since I only have one little rugrat, but this week has been H-A-R-D.

    I read that babies tend to go through a growth spurt around 3 weeks that makes them very fussy, and I think mine is going through that now. Plus, J has been working until 8 pm at night, so being by myself for so many hours each day is taking a toll on me. I know that things will get better, and there are SO many amazing moments that keep me going, but I never imagined that it would be THIS hard.

    I hope that you’re having a better day today with your cuties today! Just know that you’re not alone, and you’re doing an amazing job!

  6. You are braver and stronger than I ever was/am. The fact that you are doing this by yourself is amazing. Just remember what a great job you are doing. I am in awe of you! There will be bad days, for sure. Just take deep breaths, walk away when you have to and let them cry so you can focus a bit and then come back. It’s HARD. So hard.
    It gets better.

  7. tbean

    Sending hugs Cindy. I can only imagine how hard the “hard” days are. Hopefully today/tomorrow/the next day is a better one.

  8. Amy

    Right there with you. Haven’t showered in 2 days, house is a wreck, there was never a minute yesterday when someone wasn’t crying. It gets better, I hear…

  9. I don’t have two babies, but my husband just returned home from a 36 hour out-of-town visit with his mother, and I was home alone with an 8 month old baby and two badly-behaved dogs. Exhuastion doesn’t begin to cover it.

    The early days/weeks can be rough. Newborns are demanding. Just between us, back then I didn’t shower every day, I often wore the same shirt all day that I slept in the night before, and the baby got bathed only every other day or so. I mean, how dirty does a newborn get? Let the non-life-threatening stuff slide. Life ain’t what it used to be, so cut yourself some slack.

  10. poppycat

    Several people told me that at 3 months they magically turn into little angels, like someone flipped a switch. I was depending on that being the case and the count down to that time was all that kept me sane some days. I would think “if I can make it just a little longer everything will ok”

    It was true! At 2.5 mo things got so much easier and the constant crying for unknown reasons stopped. So, i guess i’m trying to say, just hang in there a little longer. In the mean time, lots of hugs coming your way. This is so HARD but you are doing great.

    xo

Leave a Reply

