Old habits die hard

So today is Saturday: formerly known as the day Joey and I sleep in and cuddle. After a night of several baby wake-ups, I was really hoping the boys would quickly go back to sleep to let the moms sleep in to the slothful hour of 9AM. Of course they did not oblige but had us up for the day at 8. My thought: “we are not the people we used to be.”

Cue new daily routine of pumping, diapering, cuddle time, etc. And THEN came the moment that reminds me that Joey and I will in fact retain our old selves.

I went to the bathroom and found bountiful cervical mucus (sorry TMI). My first thought was about getting “trying.” I walk into the living room and say to Joey, “Man I wish we had some sperm…. Yadda yadda CM.”

Joey responds, “well we could call (former attempted baby daddy- now divorced).”

I say, “you think?”

She: “Wait, do we really want another baby right now?!”

Me, now laughing: “uh, no. I forgot we don’t have to try anymore.”

We kiss and Joey buries her face in my neck. She says, “you smell like maple syrup.”*

Fenugreek for breast milk= syrup smell from every pore.

6 Comments

November 27, 2010 · 1:24 pm

6 responses to “Old habits die hard

  1. teeheehee…we have similar discussions! we find ourselves talking about getting pregnant again and then realize how crazy we are – we should probably wait for the twins to arrive first! šŸ˜‰

    when you are up to it, i’d love to read a post about your/joey’s breastfeeding experience. we are wondering about the practicalities of breastfeeding twins & co-breastfeeding…

  2. reproducinggenius

    I think after monitoring cervical mucous for so long, it’s really difficult not to want to do something about it when the good stuff shows up.

    And my wife has asked me, “What would you do if I just ordered some sperm?” and then we look at the bags under one another’s eyes and laugh.

  3. Too funny. As I was cleaning out our bathroom closet I stumbled upon 12 or so opk’s and pregnancy tests and found myself starting to figure out which CD it was…

  4. Muscle memory. CM memory? Anyway, I’ve felt the same way at times. Another baby! Yeah! Am I nuts?! What the heck am I thinking?

    On another note, lucky you getting up at 8am, my boy has our household up between 5:30 – 6 am every day!

  5. poppycat

    Like looking through a window into my own life, maple syrup and all!

Leave a Reply

